Why I admire Tantra

Shai Tubali describes the courageous approach of the essential tantra  


More Posts

Why we need therapy

Why we need therapy For the past fifteen years I have focused a great deal of my efforts on developing methods of what may be

What is Mahamudra?

What is Mahamudra? There is no “teaching” of Mahamudra, Yet an example is space: upon what does it rely? Our mind Mahamudra, likewise, has no

2 Responses

  1. i think tantra can be a powerful shortcut to realization… but ` riding the tiger“ is considered in the old traditions as a potentially, dangerous process, …Especially without “proper“ preparation phase, and protection of a living master near by, that guide you…and structure your journey… and maybe even protection of a linage.
    in today’s instant spirituality culture, where all knowledge is “open“…

    is it a good responsible idea?

    1. Dear Gal,

      Thank you for your sincere thoughts.

      This is a meaningful question, of course. The practices are all out there, in the open, detailed and handed to us by great lamas and published by large publishing houses. So it is clear that the tradition itself has determined to make that which was a secret openly known. I don’t think that any of these practices are inherently dangerous, and when I teach or write about them, I hope that I manage to place them in a broad context of wisdom and right intention (that is, not self-improvement but genuine transcendence and absorption in the reality of no-self).

      It is true, however, that the best way to learn how to practice them is not from a book but in the right environment of a teacher and a serious process. Those who are drawn to engage in traditional frameworks will naturally take this type of path, but I believe that nowadays there is also room for more essential spiritual journeys that work seriously with ancient knowledge without necessarily taking part in a lineage.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Comments


Sign up for our Newsletter